About North East Somerset and Hanham

The newly created Parliamentary Constituency of North East Somerset and Hanham contains areas which up until now have been part of the Kingswood and North East Somerset constituencies. It is a large mixed rural and urban seat, much of which serves as commuter belt for the nearby cities of Bristol and Bath.

In the North of the constituency, the River Avon is the boundary between South Gloucestershire to its north and Somerset to its south. In South Gloucestershire, the seat includes the communities of Hanham, Warmley, Longwell Green and Oldland. In Somerset, the seat includes Saltford and Keynsham, the latter of which is the largest town in the constituency and was famous for chocolate manufacturing until production ceased in 2011.

In the West of the constituency is the picturesque Chew Valley, made up of villages such as Chew Magna, Chew Stoke, East and West Harptree and Bishop Sutton, whilst further East from the Chew Valley, running along the A37 are the villages of Whitchurch Pensford, Clutton, Temple Cloud and Hallatrow, each with their own special identity.

Situated in the South, in the area of the old Somerset coalfields, are the villages of Farrington Gurney, Paulton, Timsbury and Farmborough. The towns and villages in this area of the constituency are particularly close knit, brought together by the shared history of hard work and strong sense of community.

Jacob Rees-Mogg won the existing seat of North East Somerset for the Conservatives from Labour in 2010 and again in 2015 and 2017 and 2019.